Day One / About

Day One is a journaling app for the iPhone, iPad and Mac. Record life as you live it. From once-in-a-lifetime events to everyday moments, Day One’s elegant interface makes journaling your life a simple pleasure.


To learn more about Day One, see these two excellent reviews:

Download the Press Kit and other press information.

Day One Products

iPhone and iPad

Journal on-the-go using your iOS devices. Never lose the context of “when, where, and what” with automatic date, time, location, weather, and motion activity metadata. Learn more.

Mac

This award-winning app is packed with powerful features, including a map view, quick entry menu bar, and timeline filters. Learn more.

Apple Watch

Day One Apple Watch is the fastest and easiest way to capture moments in life. Features include voice dictation and location check-in.

Sync

With Day One’s free syncing service, you can easily switch between your Mac and iOS devices and always have your journal with you. Learn more.

Publish

Handpick individual entries for posting to a beautiful webpage, then share them via email, texting, and social media. Learn more.

***

Milestones

Date Milestone
2011-03-09 Day One 1.0 for Mac Released
2011-03-09 Day One 1.0 for iPhone Released
2011-12-12 Andy Ihnatko’s Pick of the Week
2011-03-28 Mac App Store “Editors Choice
2011-12-13 Mac App Store “Best Apps of 2011” #1 Spot
2012-01-28 iPad App Store – App of the Week
2012-01-28 iPhone App Store – App of the Week
2012-08-03 The Verge Review
2012-11-07 Jack Dorsey endorsement
2012-12-14 Mac App Store “App of the Year
2013-07-09 Apple’s App Store Fifth Anniversary Feature App
2014-01-01 Apple’s Mac Thirtieth Anniversary Feature App
2014-03-11 Day One Publish (publishing and sharing service)
2014-06-02 Apple Design Award winner
2014-06-02 App Store App of the Week
2015-04-24 Day One for Apple Watch
2015-05-15 Day One Sync
2016-02-03 Launched Day One Version 2.0
2016-02-04 App Store Editors’ Choice (Mac and iOS)
2016-03-17 Day One IFTTT Channel

The Pro Team

(In order of hire date)
Paul Mayne @paulmayne
Jason Webb @bigjasonwebb
BJ Homer @bjhomer
Dallas Petersen @dallaspetersen
Alan Wessman @alanwessman
Josh Orr @jorr39
Layne Moseley @laynemoseley
Toby Youngberg @tyoungbe
Adam Daly @adamjohndaly

Books

Day One In Depth by Shawn Blanc and Others
A comprehensive guide to Day One, the best journaling app for iOS and Mac.

Starting from Day One by Bakari Chavanu
Using the Day One Journaling App to Record and Enrich Your Life.

Integrated Apps

Launch Center Pro
Workflow
TextExpander


“Makes journaling as easy as tweeting.”

Cameron Moll, esteemed design and tech leader


“A simple and always accessible new kind of micro-journaling…”

The Verge

Superior writing experience

  • Clean, distraction-free interface
  • Quick entry window in menu bar (Mac version)
  • Multi-Markdown text formatting
  • Full screen mode
  • Privacy passcode lock
  • Photographic entries
  • Command-line interface for power users

Context

Each Day One entry automatically tracks:

  • Photo EXIF data
  • Temperature and weather data
  • Locations (GPS and Foursquare Places)
  • Time and date
  • Activity data – Motion and step count (iPhone 5s)
  • Music playing

Encouragement

  • Customized writing reminders
  • Inspirational quotes and questions (Mac version)

Organization

  • Search by keyword
  • Create tags and #hashtags
  • Star favorite entries
  • Browse past entries by calendar, timeline, maps, and more

Archive and Backup

  • Sync entries across all your Mac devices with Dropbox or iCloud (iOS sync with purchase of iOS app)
  • PDF export (with date range and tag filters) and Printing
  • Automated local backups

Sharing

  • Tweet entries
  • Check-in with Foursquare (iOS version)
  • Email entries (PDF, HTML, or Plain Text)

“Day One Journal… using it every day now.”

Jack Dorsey, founder of Twitter and Square


“I love Day One diary software as well because it syncs across computers and reminds me politely to record my life in little snippets.”

Felicia Day, Actress and Producer


Special Thanks

Shelley Martin @shelmart
Bakari Chavanu @bakarichavanu
Ben Dolman @bdolman
Mark Schultz @MarkQSchultz
Brett Terpstra @ttscoff
Shawn Blanc @shawnblanc

All our awesome beta testers!

Subscribe to the Day One Email Newsletter



Feel free to Contact Us.

Day One Mac 1.7 Screens


“Day One is probably the most powerful app I have on my Mac and iOS devices…”

Federico Viticci, MacStories