Day One / About

Day One is a journaling app for the iPhone, iPad and Mac. Record life as you live it. From once-in-a-lifetime events to everyday moments, Day One’s elegant interface makes journaling your life a simple pleasure.

“Makes journaling as easy as tweeting.”

Cameron Moll, esteemed design and tech leader

“A simple and always accessible new kind of micro-journaling…”

The Verge

Capture memories and photos

Superior writing experience

  • Clean, distraction-free interface
  • Quick entry window in menu bar (Mac version)
  • Multi-Markdown text formatting
  • Full screen mode
  • Privacy passcode lock
  • Photographic entries
  • Command-line interface for power users

Context

Each Day One entry automatically tracks:

  • Photo EXIF data
  • Temperature and weather data
  • Locations (GPS and Foursquare Places)
  • Time and date
  • Activity data – Motion and step count (iPhone 5s)
  • Music playing

Encouragement

  • Customized writing reminders
  • Inspirational quotes and questions (Mac version)

Organization

  • Search by keyword
  • Create tags and #hashtags
  • Star favorite entries
  • Browse past entries by calendar, timeline, maps, and more

Archive and Backup

  • Sync entries across all your Mac devices with Dropbox or iCloud (iOS sync with purchase of iOS app)
  • PDF export (with date range and tag filters) and Printing
  • Automated local backups

Sharing

  • Tweet entries
  • Check-in with Foursquare (iOS version)
  • Email entries (PDF, HTML, or Plain Text)

“Day One Journal… using it every day now.”

Jack Dorsey, founder of Twitter and Square

“I love Day One diary software as well because it syncs across computers and reminds me politely to record my life in little snippets.”

Felicia Day, Actress and Producer

“Day One is probably the most powerful app I have on my Mac and iOS devices…”

Federico Viticci, MacStories

Milestones

Date Milestone
2011-03-09 Day One 1.0 for Mac Released
2011-03-09 Day One 1.0 for iPhone Released
2011-12-12 Andy Ihnatko’s Pick of the Week
2011-03-28 Mac App Store “Editors Choice
2011-12-13 Mac App Store “Best Apps of 2011” #1 Spot
2012-01-28 iPad App Store – App of the Week
2012-01-28 iPhone App Store – App of the Week
2012-08-03 The Verge Review
2012-11-07 Jack Dorsey endorsement
2012-12-14 Mac App Store “App of the Year
2013-07-09 Apple’s App Store Fifth Anniversary Feature App
2014-01-01 Apple’s Mac Thirtieth Anniversary Feature App
2014-06-02 Apple Design Award winner

The Pro Team

(In order of hire date)

Paul Mayne @paulmayne
Ben Dolman @bdolman
Shelley Martin @shelmart
Jason Webb @bigjasonwebb
BJ Homer @bjhomer
Dallas Petersen @dallaspetersen
Alan Wessman @alanwessman
Tulio Jarocki @tuliojarocki
Mark Schultz @MarkQSchultz
Josh Orr @jorr39

Subscribe to the Day One Email Newsletter



Feel free to Contact Us.
Download the Press Kit.

Day One Mac 1.7 Screens