Recover Deleted Entries from Trash
If you accidentally deleted an entry in Day One, you can recover it from the Trash. Day One supports a Trash for deleted entries on iOS, Mac, and Android. Trash is not yet available on the Web or Windows apps.
Important: Trash is NOT located in the Settings menu, and it is NOT part of the More tab in the bottom navigation bar (the More tab holds features like On This Day, Daily Prompt, and Streaks — not Trash). The Trash is located below the list of journals in the Journal Drawer/Sidebar (tap the menu icon at the top left of the app to open it), and it will only display if there is one or more deleted entries.
Trash holds deleted entries, not deleted journals. If you deleted a whole journal, you can restore it from Day One on the web at dayone.me, under Settings, Advanced, Deleted Journals. See Deleting Journals for the steps.
How long do entries stay in Trash?
Entries stay in the Trash until you permanently delete them. Day One does not remove trashed entries automatically — they remain available to restore for as long as they’re in the Trash. The only way an entry leaves the Trash is if you permanently delete it yourself (see below).
Restore deleted entries
To find Trash on iPhone or iPad:
- Tap the menu icon (top left) to open the journal drawer.
- Scroll to the bottom of the journal list.
- Tap Trash (only visible when deleted entries are present).
- Tap an entry, then tap Restore. The entry will go back to the journal in which it originally existed.

Swipe from right to left on an entry for additional options including Select which allows selecting multiple entries to restore simultaneously.

On macOS, select the entry and click the Restore button at the top.

Permanently delete entries
In the Trash, entries can be permanently deleted as well. To permanently delete entries, open the Trash and click/tap the delete button/link as shown:

Important: Once an entry is permanently deleted from the Trash, it is irreversibly removed and cannot be recovered by the app or by our support team. There is no recovery option for permanently deleted entries.
We recommend leaving entries in the Trash as a safety net and only permanently deleting entries if you are completely sure you no longer need them.
