Entry Version History
Starting in version 7.8 for iOS, 7.9 for macOS, and 2024.19 for Android, Day One supports entry version history options to restore earlier revisions.
Platform Availability
Entry Version History is available in these Day One apps:
- iOS and iPadOS: Available, starting in version 7.8
- macOS: Available, starting in version 7.9
- Android: Available, starting in version 2024.19
- Web app (dayone.me): Not available
- Windows: Not available
Version History shows revisions that have synced to Day One Sync, so you need to be signed in to your Day One account and connected to the internet to view or restore them.
Important: Entry Version History shows previous revisions of the specific entry you have open. It does not display other entries in your journal, and it cannot be used to find or recover a completely missing entry. If an entry has disappeared entirely, see Data Loss and Recovery Options or Solving Sync Troubles instead.
iOS
To view the version history, open the entry and tap More (•••) at the top right, then Version History. The revisions synced to Day One Sync will appear. Tap the revisions to view those versions. When the desired version is located, tap Restore at the top right.

macOS
To view the version history, open the entry and click More (•••) at the top right, then Version History. A slider will appear.

Move the slider to different versions to view them in the entry. Once the desired version is located, click Restore.

Android
To view the version history, open the entry and tap More menu option (︙) at the top right, then Version History. The revisions synced to Day One Sync will appear. Tap the revisions to view those versions. When the desired version is located, tap Restore at the top right.
Web App (dayone.me) and Windows
The full “Version History” feature is not currently available on the Day One Web app or the Day One Windows app. To use Version History, open the entry in Day One on Android, iPhone, iPad, or Mac.
However, for simple, immediate edits, you can use your computer’s standard keyboard shortcuts to undo or redo changes within an entry.
- Undo:
Cmd+Z(on Mac) orCtrl+Z(on Windows) - Redo:
Shift+Cmd+Z(on Mac) orCtrl+Y(on Windows)
Please note: This functionality only works for changes made during your current editing session. If you close the entry, switch to another entry, or refresh the page, the undo/redo history will be reset.
